Danger of concrete falling off Muk Oil Dock?

General banter about diving and why we love it.
JackSchacher
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

Post by JackSchacher »

I have a dive buddy who insists that huge slabs of concrete have fallen off the Muk oil dock and so it is dangerous to swim under the structure.

Has anybody else heard anything about this?
Mattleycrue76
I've Got Gills

Re: Danger of concrete falling off Muk Oil Dock?

Post by Mattleycrue76 »

I've certainly seen quite a bit of large debris and big concrete slabs when scootering around under there. I guess if you were in the wrong place at exactly the wrong time it could be pretty dangerous. But then that kinda goes for life in general. :dontknow:
"The She-Ps didn't work for either one of us, however- we accidently glued one to Dan's cat, and the other one ended up in a DEA evidence locker somehow." - Joshua Smith
Nwbrewer
I've Got Gills

Post by Nwbrewer »

Does your buddy refuse to use crosswalks too? Probably more dangerous.
"Screw "annual" service,... I get them serviced when they break." - CaptnJack (paraphrased)

"you do realize you're supposed to mix the :koolaid: with water and drink it, not snort the powder directly from the packet, right? :smt064 " - Spatman
selkie
Submariner

Post by selkie »

The sky is falling, the sky is falling :eek:
"A man must have some wit to know he is a fool"

Maritime Archaeological Society (MAS)
http://maritimearchaeological.org/

Northwest Diving History Association (NWDHA)
http://www.divinghistory.org/
John Rawlings
I've Got Gills

Post by John Rawlings »

Although I haven't done so since they blocked off shore access to it from the North, I've dived around and under the Mukilteo Oil Pier for literally decades and have never seen any evidence of concrete falling, or ever heard of it happening from any other person....ever.

I consider your buddy's fears completely groundless, and I'd happily dive there again tomorrow if I had a boat to get me there.