Diving for Crabbing Advice

General banter about diving and why we love it.
iscuba2
Just Settling In

Diving for Crabbing Advice

Post by iscuba2 »

Okay, I believe we all know crabbing season will open on July 1st….and I love crab, both Red Rock and Dungeness!

I have been the unlucky harvester of crabs from the docks around the sound and never able to catch my limit using the ol’ crab ring. And beside; it’s getting too crowded there. One of the reasons I got into diving is so I can harvest crab and I am new to dive.

Any suggestions where will be a good diving and crabbing place around the sound that also a great place for picnic? Any thoughts? Or maybe any advice why you should not do diving for crabbing?

Thanks!
WASP7000
Dive-aholic

Re: Diving for Crabbing Advice

Post by WASP7000 »

Those poor marine crustaceans, leave them alone!......Just kidding, it's actually part of the reason I got into diving too. This year will be my first year diving for them, so I don't have a whole lot of advice for you, but we've all gotta start somewhere. Do you have a boat?
Dusty2
I've Got Gills

Post by Dusty2 »

Mukilteo is supposed to be a good place for such things. Reds are just about everywhere but dungeness are a little more difficult. If your new it's best to find an experienced buddy till you get some dives under your belt. Them guys is way fast when they need to be and it's easy for a new diver to get in trouble chasing them. Just remember to take your crab gauge. They look allot bigger under water and the mounties aren't very forgiving.

You might try showing up for the monday night mukilteo dive. I know some of those guys is crabbin fools!
BillZ
Aquanaut

Post by BillZ »

Here's some pointers....
The Mukilteo Oil dock is one of the best places for crabbing but it's a long swim/wade out.