advice for dry suit newby

General banter about diving and why we love it.
rustbeard
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

advice for dry suit newby

Post by rustbeard »

Hi guys,

So just wanted some advice on whether or not I should take a dry suit course. I just did my first dry suit dive in May (in Iceland!) I would've done the course, but didn't have time to read the book and answer questions, so I opted out of it. I felt pretty comfortable during the dive and the guide and dive buddies all complemented me on my buoyancy for my first time. They did give me a quick run down and some tips for dry suit diving, but nothing in depth.
I really want to get into diving out here and it seems like dry suits are the way to go. I've heard from some people that I should just start diving with other people. I do know that some dive shops won't rent you gear without a dry suit certification. I was thinking of getting a dry suit at the underwater sports sale in a few weeks, but a little hesitant since I am not too knowledgeable about dry suits.

Thanks,
-Matt
E_Mo
Aquaphile

Re: advice for dry suit newby

Post by E_Mo »

I would recommend the class. To me the class was helpful, as I knew nothing about drysuits when I started and my instructor took the time to show me everything I needed to know about use and care for my particular suit. There are some skills that I think are important that you learn in the class, such as recovering from a head down inversion, and dealing with a free flowing inflator.

When I bought my dry suit from my LDS they through the class in for free, I bet you could talk UWS or whatever other store you decide on to give you the class for a discounted price, or maybe free.
All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing. -Unknown
spatman
I've Got Gills

Post by spatman »