Diving the OLD town of Vantage??

General banter about diving and why we love it.
Bigskyguy1976
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

Diving the OLD town of Vantage??

Post by Bigskyguy1976 »

Has anyone heard of this at all?

I heard snippets of this years ago and have often thought about going to look for myself.

The rumor was that the old town of Vantage (before the Wanupum Dam flooded the area) is still there. Seems reasonable to me that it would be a recreational depths but probably wicked current if the dam is discharging water.

I have dove in Wanapum LK before further upstream (below the Gorge). Viz was about 10' moderate current, lots of fish checking me out and the columnar basalt formations were cool to look at. Oh, and it is a treat to dive in fresh water from time to time.

Ok, I'll quite rambling on. Just curious is anyone else has heard of diving off the old town of Vantage?
Nwcid
Extreme Diving Machine

Re: Diving the OLD town of Vantage??

Post by Nwcid »

I have not heard of that but we would be interested as that is right in my area of weekly travel.
John

Check out my site, http://scubadivesites.webs.com/
Mateo1147
Extreme Diving Machine

Post by Mateo1147 »

If you can find more information about location I'm in. I live an hour and a half from there and it would be cool. In the winter the viz will be better and less river flow also.
You breath like a girl! -Blaiz
I thought she was right until I dove with eliseaboo!
loanwolf
Pelagic

Post by loanwolf »

Hard to say what is down their. the current USGS maps do not show it. Best to get a hold of the USGS and get a hold of a pre 1960 map that shows the roads and town. May make a good scooter run and follow the road down. Better to know the layout first buy getting a hold of the old map.
Greg
Life is Short do as Much as Possible in as Short of Period of Time as Possible.
Dusty2
I've Got Gills

Post by Dusty2 »