Altitude change

General banter about diving and why we love it.
kalailyliani
Just Settling In

Altitude change

Post by kalailyliani »

I'm diving clear lake next weekend near Sisters, OR. The surface elevation of clear lake is 3,012′. Our dives will be <60' and we are planning a 2 tank dive.

Can someone direct me to a dive table or some info to calculate how long I must wait before going up to McKenzie observatory, which is 5,325 feet?

I'm new to diving and I know not to fly right after diving, but what's the rule on local elevation changes? Like, what if I lived 2000' above the dive site? Would i technically not be able to return home? :/
Scubie Doo
I've Got Gills

Altitude change

Post by Scubie Doo »

I've never dove at altitude. But while in Hawaii it is easy to dive and drive up to altitude without thinking. A lot of people live at elevation in Hawaii and dive. However, that doesn't mean it is "safe". You should really take a course or get some training on diving at altitude. I have over 700 dives and I would take a course, even a private course just to ensure I was doing everything correctly. I know you can research online, but elevation is not something I would ever mess with unless I was 100% sure what I was doing. Just my opinion.
Nwbrewer
I've Got Gills

Re: Altitude change

Post by Nwbrewer »

This book covers all the theory stuff about the physiology of diving at altitude, though it's not an easy read -

When I looked a few years ago there weren't many classes available for altitude diving locally, and non from any of the instructors that I trust.

After all the reading I did on the subject, and discussing it with a few instructors, for anything in the 3K feet and under range, I've just done my dives with 32% on air NDL's and padded my stops by a bunch and called it good.

Jake
"Screw "annual" service,... I get them serviced when they break." - CaptnJack (paraphrased)