First time in Hoodsport, one day to dive

General banter about diving and why we love it.
eric
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

First time in Hoodsport, one day to dive

Post by eric »

My wife and I will be staying in Glen Ayr the night of Sept 9th and plan to dive the morning of Sept 10th before check-out. This is just a quick stop on our way down to California and San Carlos Mexico for more diving. Looking for recommendations on what dive we should try?

Would like to stay no deeper than 30' average, 50' max, depending on viz and temp. So I think that rules out the docks at Glen Ayr, and probably also Flagpole. Do the docks behind YSS have a name? I'm having trouble finding any videos or info about that site, but the employee at YSS said they often see octopus there (I think she meant that spot). YSS seems like a good place to rent tanks, so that is a bonus if we can just dive right there, but only if it is a good option.

I've just found this list and will go through it: https://www.nwdiveclub.com/viewforum.php?f=6 -- it is a little hard to know which ones are in the Hoodsport area though, so may take me some time.
YellowEye
I've Got Gills

Re: First time in Hoodsport, one day to dive

Post by YellowEye »

Hi

YSS is great!

The viz reports in the canal haven't been great lately. See https://pnwdiving.com/

There was one report of decent viz at Rosies Ravine, but that was only deeper.
Flag Pole probably wouldn't be a great choice... its deep, a long swim, and the parking is terrible.
Point Whitney might have better viz as its a little north but you may get tempted to go deeper than 50 going down that slope.

Sund Rock would be an ideal profile (recommend the south side). The viz report from today was terrible but there were some cool sightings like 3 octos and a dogfish!

You can see where the various Hood Canal sites are on a map if you go to the "view all sites" option under search on pnwdiving.com

Hope you enjoy! Would appreciate any viz reports you can leave...
-Eric