Hints for using DS51 with Canon G10?

Post and discuss beautiful underwater photos and video brought back from the depths of the sea.
scubajen
Avid Diver

Hints for using DS51 with Canon G10?

Post by scubajen »

I just picked up a used Ikelite housing and DS51 strobe for the Canon G10. I am only testing it dry so far, but I have the f-stop cranked to 8.0 and the shutter speed at 1/500, and it looks like everything is still getting blown out. I have tried the manual setting of 2 stops of underexposure. I have tried the various settings on the strobe from TTL to -2.5. Nothing is helping. Anything white is lost to blow-out oblivion. Hints?
mpenders
Submariner

Re: Hints for using DS51 with Canon G10?

Post by mpenders »

I've been shooting underwater with a G10 for a few years now, but I use a pair of S&S YS90 strobes that have a bit more control (compared to the DS51) as to how much flash is produced. Positioning of the strobe(s) can make a huge difference. Pointing the stobe directly at your subject may not be the best technique, depending on what you're trying to accomplish. Here's some good how-to information on this: http://www.uwphotographyguide.com/under ... ositioning.

I'm expecting Scubie Doo to reply to this, as he shot with your exact setup for awhile. I seem to recall that he was pretty frustrated with the results TTL was giving him, and abandoned it completely in favor of shooting in full Manual.

You didn't mention what ISO you're using. For macro work I'm either in ISO 80 or 100. F8 is a good start, with a shutter speed of 125-500.

One nice feature of the G10 is the ability to save 2 custom settings (C1 and C2). It's very convenient to be able to set them up to easily switch settings from macro to wide angle and back, depending on what you have found to shoot.

Have fun - you have a great setup that several of us enjoy using.

Mike
scubajen
Avid Diver

Post by scubajen »