PERSPECTIVE

Post and discuss beautiful underwater photos and video brought back from the depths of the sea.
Tom Nic
I've Got Gills

PERSPECTIVE

Post by Tom Nic »

Raw camera gear, no matter how amazing, will not automatically make a good picture. Angle, composition, perspective, and more add up to a good shot.

As I was playing with some of my pics I found a few shots that show the difference that perspective makes, and thought I'd share them here. I am FAR from an expert, but thought these were kind of fun!

These pics of a West Indian Sea Egg, a type of sea urchin, show what perspective will do to a picture. This first shot I am a bit above and to the left of the urchin. This pic would definitely look better if I was lower.

The second I am directly in front of it, almost level with it, but still slightly above. The Fire Coral is now fully in view and makes the pic a bit more "interesting", IMO. In hindsight I'm still too "high", and this would look better if I was lower than my subject.

This last shot I'm on the right side, and a little more below than I was before. Now the urchin is enhanced even more by the Fire Coral.

Each shot is of the same subject, but because of angle and placement of both the subjects and the ancillary objects each shot is quite different.

This next couple of shots are even more dramatic. I was puttering along above the reef when I noticed this Peacock Flounder perched on a coral head. His camouflage was impeccable and my dive buddy had already swam right over him. I like the shot because it shows the wonderful ability this critter has to hide in plain site.

As he was pretty relaxed, which often critters that depend on camouflage will be, I wondered if I'd be able to drop over in front of him and shoot up on him instead of down to make the shot more interesting. So off I went - this one is in front, but still slightly above...

And just a bit lower and closer... he was starting to get nervous.