Maui in April

Post your questions (and answers) about dive excursions abroad here.
Scuba Skaughtie
Frequent Bubbler

Maui in April

Post by Scuba Skaughtie »

Ok. So we've booked the condo, we've booked the flight...

We're going to Maui! Staying in Kihei... Now what. This is my first trip to warm water and my first trip anywhere as a diver.

Any recommendations? Tips? Top dive spots?
oldsalt
I've Got Gills

Re: Maui in April

Post by oldsalt »

I'm no expert, but I have traveled to Maui twice and really enjoyed myself both times. There is a dive shop every 15ft. I have dived with four of them and had a good experience each time. B&B Diving in Kihei took us out to the Helldiver, a WWII plane wreck which we really enjoyed. All of the charters take you to Molikini Crater, a signature dive. The back side of Molikini was wonderful, but the operators required quite a bit of experience. If you can get up to Lahaina, Lahaina divers makes trips to Lanai which I thought was well worth it, especially the Cathedrals. You can also find dive guides that will lead you on shore dives. I recommend 5 Caves/5 Graves. We are expending our travel money to go to the east coast this year. I envy you.
- Curt
Happy to be alive.
kdupreez
I've Got Gills

Post by kdupreez »

posted on Maui diving a while ago here:

http://www.nwdiveclub.com/viewtopic.php ... 38#p164775

real good diving towards Kihei.. some of the best shore diving is out that way.
"I believe that if life gives you lemons, you should make lemonade... And try to find somebody whose life has given them vodka, and have a party" - Ron White
LCF
I've Got Gills

Post by LCF »

I've made a lot of trips to Maui, since my in-laws live in Kihei. I agree with Koos that you can do a great trip just shore diving, IF you are confident about diving unknown sites, and willing to play a little bit with the surf.