Beginners Camera

Need advice on recreational gear configurations? Look no further than this equipment forum.
Boandmaggiesmom
Just Settling In

Beginners Camera

Post by Boandmaggiesmom »

Alright you lovely knowledgeable people.... now on the fun stuff:) Cameras. I am just starting out... know next to nothing about diving, let alone photography. After looking at all your beautiful photos I am very interested in capturing my adventures so that I can share the awe and fun. So I open the discussion to all of you.... knowing what you know now.... what would you get and why? Something small and easy to use initially or just bite the bullet and go big right out of the gate:) Thanks in advance, Joanna
Scubie Doo
I've Got Gills

Re: Beginners Camera

Post by Scubie Doo »

Joanna, a canon G10 or G12 with a stock housing is a great way to start. Plus you can grow by adding strobes and a nicer housing. But you can get great shots with the standard housing. I'd be happy to show you the ropes once you get your setup :)
Boandmaggiesmom
Just Settling In

Lovely. Thank you for the info and the offer:) Now I can send my call night shopping for cameras rather than studying. Way more fun:)
Scubie Doo
I've Got Gills

Post by Scubie Doo »

Camera shopping is more fun, by far :) by the way. I took this shot with a G10, standard housing, and no strobes. So you can get some decent pics.

http://www.jessemillerphotography.com/U ... -K72QvzH/A
carlk3
Aquaphile

Post by carlk3 »

Joanna,

I use a GoPro without lights, but with a filter. Underwater, it is super simple: Push one button and it starts taking pictures. A few seconds later, push that button again and it stops. It gives me snapshot-quality photos, not magazine-quality. Back at home, I use my computer grab the best pictures and color correct.

Here are some pictures from yesterday at Alki.

And here are details of the method: http://slugco.com/meta/GoProScuba/.

- Carl
Boandmaggiesmom
Just Settling In