Renting Wetsuit

Need advice on recreational gear configurations? Look no further than this equipment forum.
Terrance
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

Renting Wetsuit

Post by Terrance »

I'm new to freediving and will be taking the PFI beginners course in Lakewood Oct 2-4. They require a wetsuit for pool and ocean session.

Can someone recommend a good place to rent a wetsuit? I want to try some wetsuits in the water before deciding which one I will eventually buy.

Also I'm looking to buy weights for my belt. Any recommendations there?
johndo88
Compulsive Diver

Re: Renting Wetsuit

Post by johndo88 »

Your local dive store (LDS) can help for both the weight and the wetsuit. In no particular order, look up Underwater Sports - Tacoma store. TLSEA, Tacoma SCUBA, and I believe Lighthouse Divers Supply has a store in Tacoma too. In addition, Underwater Sports has a store in Federal Way. There may be other dive shops near you that I'm missing.
RoxnDox
Submariner

Post by RoxnDox »

Yes, Lighthouse has a Tacoma shop, 25th and Pacific...
<Penopolypants> "I, for one, would welcome our new cowboy octopus overlords."
<LCF> "There is ALWAYS another day to dive, as long as you get home today."
mpenders
Submariner

Post by mpenders »

Local south sound dive shops have already been listed above, and most should be able to get you outfitted with a wetsuit suitable for PNW waters. That being said, I understand that freedivers may use suits that are designed differently than the suits used for scuba (I don't freedive, so don't take this as gospel).

I would strongly recommend waiting until you have a chance to discuss proper gear with your instructor before investing in a new suit.

Regarding weights/weight belts: I prefer this style of weights
traditional-scuba-weight_belt.jpg
individual-scuba-weights.jpg
individual-scuba-weights.jpg (15.12 KiB) Viewed 2388 times
seapearl-vinyl-coated-weight_1.jpg
plomb-plastifie-sea-pearl.jpg