Weights Minimum

Need advice on recreational gear configurations? Look no further than this equipment forum.
MikeC
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

Weights Minimum

Post by MikeC »

Hello All,

I have been put of the water for a couple of years and have only done about six dives in the puger sound.
I am an average but heavy body type in water at 185lbs and 5' 10"
I am diving a doubled up farmer john style wet suite at 6 mil and 7mil everything else.

I am asking if anyone can give me a good absolute minimum weight I would need so I can prepurchase some pocket weights for my BCD. I am offshore in Trinidad and bored sailors with a connection tend to land on dive gear sites.

Mike
mpenders
Submariner

Re: Weights Minimum

Post by mpenders »

An "abosolute minimum" is a tough number to throw a guess at without knowing all the variables.

- What tank(s) will you be using? Aluminum & steel have significantly different buoyancy characteristics.
- What type of BCD? Is it negative or positively buoyant - and by how much?
- Are your fins floaty or heavy?
- What other gear are you carrying that might affect buoyancy? Pony tank? Camera?

Considering your time away from diving, and limited experience in cold water, I'd expect you to need at least 30lbs of weight, probably more. Having a few extra pounds of weight available to dial in to your exact weighting needs would be a good plan. My recommendation would be to obtain at least 36lbs of weight, in various sizes (between 1-5lbs), so as to provide you the most flexibility. A good combination would be 4 x 5lbs, 2 x 3lbs, 4 x 2lbs and 2 x 1lbs.
Norris
NWDC Moderator
NWDC Moderator

Post by Norris »

I would have to agree with 35# or so, this way you have some buffer for different tanks. If you use an aluminum and then go to a steel, this will be a substantial weight change. In my drysuit (much more buoyant than wetsuit) I wear 20# with backplate and steel 120 when diving singles.