Deco Alu or steel bottle

General topics about technical diving.
imjustdave
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

Deco Alu or steel bottle

Post by imjustdave »

Hello there
I would say I am still fairly new to diving in general but working on completing my kit out knowing that I will be focusing on doing tech, wreck diving soon. I would say 90% of tech divers go with steel doubles over aluminum but what about the 30 and 40 Deco bottles? Taking costs out of the equation is there a standard for material? I see so few steel I know the cost may play a big part but from the specs I have seen on a steel 40 seem to show negative to neutral boyancy when empty VS + a few lbs on the alu...

Thanks
Dave
Jeff Pack
I've Got Gills

Re: Deco Alu or steel bottle

Post by Jeff Pack »

I only know a few folks that use steels for stages over AL. I understand its perhaps more common in cavers. I don't recall the rationale.

Steel tanks are gonna hang, AL will float abit. For my trimix bottles, I actually hang a few pounds on the end to drop the ass down into trim. Also how they hang while being drawn down is different between steels and AL.

If you are serious about eventually moving to tech, don't even consider 30's, they aren't enough.
=============================================

- I got a good squirt in my mouth
- I would imagine that there would be a large amount of involuntary gagging
- I don't know about you but I'm not into swallowing it

CCR discussion on Caustic Cocktails.
GearHead
Submariner

Post by GearHead »

I've recently come to appreciate the characteristics of the Alu72 tanks for deco bottles. They sling easier than the 80s and are nicer to carry on land as well. I have an Alu40 set up for O2, but haven't used it yet.
CaptnJack
I've Got Gills

Post by CaptnJack »

1) the deco bottle will never be emptied on a normal dive
2) aluminum 40 is pretty close to neutral when empty if it has a reg on it