KING KONG vs. GODZILLA - A Visit to Edmonds

Tell us your tale of coming nose-to-nose with a 6 gill [--this big--], or about your vacation to turquoise warm waters. Share your adventures here!
Tom Nic
I've Got Gills

KING KONG vs. GODZILLA - A Visit to Edmonds

Post by Tom Nic »

This image pretty much says it all!

I had the opportunity to head from the South-lands up North through the jungle that is Seattle traffic to a site that you North dwelling NWDiveClubbers get to dive regularly, but our South Sound contingent don't often get up that way. I am almost embarrassed to say that it has been years since I dove Edmond's... couldn't really pull up a specific date without consulting the ancient manuscript portion of my dive logs, but suffice it to say I was a newb.

All I can say is "Why in the blazes did I wait so long?!?" :tomnic:

We braved traffic both ways and did three hour plus dives. (Surface interval? Who needs a surface interval when you never hit 40fsw and are diving nitrox?! Get out of your suit, go to the bathroom, gear up and by the time you drop for your next dive you've almost been out an hour anyway!) I will spare my easily distracted friends a hugely detailed report, but just wanted to post a couple of conclusions I came to based on the difference between diving it as a newbie and diving it now.

1) Do Multiple Dives! There is so much to see, and it is so shallow that even diving air you don't load a ton of nitrogen. Coming from the South you really need to make an extended day of it to make the drive and the traffic worth it.

2) Do The Surface Swims!! OK, I absolutely HATE surface swims. I HATE THEM!! 'Nuff said. But here they are SO worth it! Our first dive we swam to one of the near buoys and began our dive there. Our last two dives we swam WAY the heck out... starting our last dive on the pontoon.