Fairly new diver looking for buddy

Looking for a dive buddy? Get paired up here.
bazonkers
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

Fairly new diver looking for buddy

Post by bazonkers »

My name is Joe and I'm new to the board but I've lived in the Seattle area for the last 5 years. I've been OW certified since 2004 (learned in Monterey CA) but aside from some warm water diving, I didn't get back into diving seriously until the last few months. I just finished up my PADI AOW with drysuit and I'm looking to get out at least once a month (hopefully much more than that) to keep my skills sharp and to get better at diving. I have 19 dives logged but I still consider myself a new diver and wouldn't mind some guidance from more experienced divers.

I'm looking to meet some other local divers that wouldn't mind having a relatively new diver as a buddy. I dove to 98ft and did a drift dive for my AOW but I'm looking for some tamer stuff until I get my new equipment dialed in as well as more skills as a diver. I wasn't freaked out at 98ft but I was sucking through air FAST which didn't make it a very fun dive. I do have some steel HP120 tanks now so I should be able to keep up better with those divers that have much better consumption rates. As for preferences, I'm open to seeing anything underwater from wrecks to critters to mermaids. I really want to become a much more comfortable and safer diver which requires time in the water. I'll go look at anything while getting that time and experience as long as the conditions aren't too hairy.

My schedule is WIDE open mostly. I'm free weekdays until the late afternoon (need to pick up my son from school at 5:30pm on the Eastside but some days my wife is home and I can dive until whenever) and most weekends unless my wife is working. Short of that, I'm open. I live over in Sammamish on the Eastside and I'm willing to pretty much drive anywhere to dive but on days I need to be home by 5:30, I'd prefer something closer to the Seattle area.