Looking for buddy 7/7 to 12 weeknd/night diving Edmonds area

Looking for a dive buddy? Get paired up here.
swwhitford
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

Looking for buddy 7/7 to 12 weeknd/night diving Edmonds area

Post by swwhitford »

Hello, I'm going to be in the Seattle area (Mountlake Terrace area) for business for a week, and am hoping to squeeze in some diving. A quick web-search mentioned Edmonds, and revealed some dive shops in the area, but I'm looking for some recommendations and buddies.

I'm looking to do some diving July 7, and possibly some dusk/night diving other nights that week. I have no experience diving on the West Coast (or the Pacific ocean for that matter), are there any nearby sites that stand out as a classic pacific northwest dive?

I'm from Massachusetts, and have about 200 dives, mostly in cold New England (temps average 50-75 F). I have a divemaster certification, along with AOW, night, and drysuit. I'm comfortable at depth, and have done a bunch of wreck diving around here.

I'll probably only be bringing my regulator, fins, mask, gloves, & boots, and would need to rent/borrow the rest. As I said, according to google there are a few dive shops nearby, any favorites?

Thanks in advance!
-Steve
---
New England Aquarium Dive Club Webmaster
http://www.neadc.org
LCF
I've Got Gills

Re: Looking for buddy 7/7 to 12 weeknd/night diving Edmonds

Post by LCF »

Edmonds is a great place to do your first Seattle area dives, as long as we aren't in the middle of a horrendous algae bloom. (It's shallow, so the muck that forms in the top 30 feet is pretty much what you dive in there.) But looking at the tides for July 7, Edmonds might not be the best choice, because it's a HUGE exchange with the nadir in the middle of the day. Edmonds at low tide is at best a PITA, and at worse, you can run into some really annoying current.

The good news is that late afternoon and evening diving during that week should be pretty pleasant.