Grunt Sculpins/Lumpsuckers/Stubby Squids in Oregon waters?

New to the NW Dive Club Forum? Come in and introduce yourself, the water's fine!
AquaticEngineer
Frequent Bubbler

Grunt Sculpins/Lumpsuckers/Stubby Squids in Oregon waters?

Post by AquaticEngineer »

Hi there, I just wanted to say hi and introduce myself.

My name is Stu, and I'm a complete newb to diving. Done lots of tide pooling, a little snorkeling and free diving, but never taken the plunge to get dive certified. Hoping to do so in the next 6 months to a year at most. I thought this might be a good place to start gathering info at :D

I will have many questions I'm sure, but one thing I cannot seem to confirm is if Grunt Sculpins are found anywhere south of Puget Sound? Most of the scientific refferences list them as occuring from Alaska to Baja, but I am curious if anyone has ever found one while diving off of the Oregon coast.

With 3 kids it'll be unlikely that I'll be able to make the drive to the Sound to dive except on rare occasions, but the oregon coast is only a little over an hour or so from me.

*Edited Title* - Also trying to find Spiny Lumpsuckers and Stubby Squid.
Last edited by AquaticEngineer on Thu Sep 08, 2011 9:23 am, edited 2 times in total.
-Aaron-
Dive-aholic

Re: Newb trying to find Grunt Sculpins in Oregon waters.

Post by -Aaron- »