I think I'm ready for Puget Sound

New to the NW Dive Club Forum? Come in and introduce yourself, the water's fine!
hmccracken
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

I think I'm ready for Puget Sound

Post by hmccracken »

Hi all,

I have always been a tropical diver, but I spend a LOT more time in Seattle than I do traveling for 3-day dive trips. I don't have gear anymore, but did a pool refresher this year and an Open Water dive (in Australia).

I would like to explore diving in my backyard, West Seattle, and beyond. I want to see if dry suit diving in cold water can work for me, because I really miss diving!!!
Dusty2
I've Got Gills

Re: I think I'm ready for Puget Sound

Post by Dusty2 »

Dry suit diving can work for anyone if you go at it with a positive attitude. If you live in west Seattle cove 2 is right in your back yard and they have weekly dives there where you can get acquainted and get a lot of good advice about cold water diving. Way different than tropical diving but just as interesting and addictive.

Welcome
Waynne Fowler
I've Got Gills

Post by Waynne Fowler »

Well said Dusty...

Nice to have you aboard hmccracken
Ripper of drysuits, mocker of divers...there are no atheist divers in a mistimed Deception Pass dive. Jeremy
LCF
I've Got Gills

Post by LCF »

hmmccracken, you will not regret trying Puget Sound!

When I got (somewhat reluctantly) certified, I had no intention of ever getting in the Sound. I had my referral all set up -- I was going to Maui to do the diving. But I liked my instructors and my classmates, and I got mau-maued into trying a dry suit and doing my certification dives here . . . and the first day was a disaster, where my dry suit leaked and I got hypothermic. Why I went on, I have no idea . . . but that was eight years and close to a thousand cold water dives ago.