New diver(s) in Beaverton

New to the NW Dive Club Forum? Come in and introduce yourself, the water's fine!
violamama
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

New diver(s) in Beaverton

Post by violamama »

Hi all!
I just finished my OW & nitrox PADI certs in Florida (referral from an LDS here) and am now back to reality in Oregon.

My husband has been certified since the mid-90's but had not gone out since then until we went together on this trip. (He did the refresher course just before we went, and did Nitrox along with me.)

We're considering GUE training, but are trying to figure out the budget we want to spend on all of this and how to pace ourselves with skill acquisition. The drysuits are a bit pricey, and having never used one I want to rent a couple to try them out before committing to one brand. We also have two kids under age 10 and that complicates the dive schedule a tad.

Looking forward to browsing the forums for advice and meeting some of you all in person! We've become addicted to the scubaboards forums (mostly lurking), which is where we heard about you. I'm really hoping to get out somewhere local within the next few months.

Nice meeting you.
WylerBear
I've Got Gills

Re: New diver(s) in Beaverton

Post by WylerBear »

Welcome to the board! There is a large contingent of Oregon divers here so you won't have any trouble finding people to dive with and /or carpool with whether you want to do weekday or weekend dives. I'm sure you'll get lots of advice but the main thing is to not rush into big purchases. You'll find many people willing to let you try out equipment and as you said, you can rent until you find something you know you're going to like.
There are periodic club dives organized thru this forum as well as informal mostly weekly dives at Cove 2, Mulkiteo, and the south Sound. Also a few of the dive shops here sponsor monthly shore and boat dives. A good way to meet people and work on your skills with others around willing to help you.