Gonna learn to dive

New to the NW Dive Club Forum? Come in and introduce yourself, the water's fine!
cschulz
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

Gonna learn to dive

Post by cschulz »

Hi. The name is Charles and it is time for this old dog to learn a new trick. In 2015, I am going to learn to dive along with my 16 year old son.

I love your site. thanks for letting me join.
Penopolypants
NWDC Moderator
NWDC Moderator

Re: Gonna learn to dive

Post by Penopolypants »

Welcome to the board, and to the addiction! Have you set a date for certification yet?
Come to the nerd side, we have pi!
cschulz
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

Post by cschulz »

We have to wait for his high school swim season to finish, so we will start the process in March...
If I can last that long!
Penopolypants
NWDC Moderator
NWDC Moderator

Post by Penopolypants »

That's not too much longer. It's great that your son is getting certified with you, it's nice to have a dive buddy in the family.
cschulz
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

Post by cschulz »

Thanks polypants. I'm really excited. I'm already learning tons by reading this site.

I'm curious though, have you known others who picked up the sport at 50? Will I need an underwater walker? (kidding)
Norris
NWDC Moderator
NWDC Moderator

Post by Norris »

Ha ha there are plenty that start this one late. Partly due to not being able to afford to dive in their 20s 30s :)

So we have a few :rawlings: divers and I am getting close at 46 years of age
**Pinch it, don't stick your finger through. You're just pinching a bigger hole.
CAPTNJACK - 2012**
Penopolypants
NWDC Moderator
NWDC Moderator

Post by Penopolypants »

Lol! Plenty of people pick it up at that age. There was a man in his late 40's with his teenage son getting certified in my class when I learned, so you're not alone. If you are relatively fit it shouldn't be an issue. I would recommend you use the time between now and then to work on your fitness level though, regardless of where you're at now in that department.
LCF