Old Diver, New Area

New to the NW Dive Club Forum? Come in and introduce yourself, the water's fine!
LdyPax
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

Old Diver, New Area

Post by LdyPax »

Hello all,

I have a question regarding suits. My dive background is Northern California (Mendocino) Abalone diving and Lobster Diving (Cortes Banks). My previous gear was a Farmer John Style with Beaver tail. Both 7mm. So essentially14 mm for torso. I am in desperate need of a new suit. I am new in the area and have yet to get in the water. I have been told that a dry suit is the only way to go. But other are saying 9mm is okay. Thoughts, comments, suggestions.
60south
Pelagic

Re: Old Diver, New Area

Post by 60south »

Welcome to the board!

Go dry. Sooner or later you'll get too cold in a wetsuit and decide to get a drysuit. Might as well just do it from the start. :-)
SCUBARM79
Avid Diver

Post by SCUBARM79 »

As a "CRAZY" person who has dove wet, and never used a dry suit, I say that it depends on you and what you're doing/ tolerance for cold is. I've found that if I am doing consecutive dives in less than "warm" (read under 70 deg) surface conditions, putting on a chilled wet suit is... chilling. To combat this I truck along a large cooler full of gallon jugs filled with hot water. zip up, pour in... bathe in the warmness. (*Disclaimer- I also wore a 2/3mm shorty for cooler surface days to help keep me warmer on longer dives/in between). I've heard the same call to dryness as well but never taken the plunge. To be fair, I am getting back into diving now ( Hello NW Dive Club! I'm new to the forum), after a hiatus, and am planning to go wet again, mostly out of budget. My perspective is subject to change, but I am also willing to suffer a little for the convenience of not worrying about holes or leaks. (for now!)
Gdog
NWDC Moderator
NWDC Moderator

Post by Gdog »