Technical diver relocating to Anacortes / Bellingham WA area

New to the NW Dive Club Forum? Come in and introduce yourself, the water's fine!
riprap
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

Technical diver relocating to Anacortes / Bellingham WA area

Post by riprap »

Just thought I would introduce myself. I am a North East Atlantic technical wreck diver who's relocating from New Jersey to the Bellingham / Anacortes area this November. Lot’s of experience in open ocean cold dark water diving and looking forward to exploring the PNW.

Soon the be new to the area, I have a couple questions if you can spare the time:
  • It seems like the diving is predominately Anacortes and South, or Vancouver and North. But not much in the area between Bellingham to the border. Curious as to why that is?
  • Is there a strong technical diving community, ccr or oc, in the area and are there certain charters, groups, or shops that tend towards this?
  • Interested in meeting other committed divers, recreational or technical, so any help, intros, or pointers to good groups would be great.
Cheers,
-- John
YellowEye
I've Got Gills

Re: Technical diver relocating to Anacortes / Bellingham WA area

Post by YellowEye »

Hi John
Welcome!

Bellingham Bay and Birch Bay are flat sandy areas, hence you'll not find much diving there.

We have plenty of CCR/OC technical divers in the area (some on this board). There's a NWRebreatherDivers fb group. And several shops cater to tech.

As for technical charters, we have a lot less charter options these days, even pre covid. In Washington, your best bet might be Northwest Dive charters who goes to the Diamond Knot (summer mostly). In canada, there are more options like the Nanaimo wrecks.

There's a contingent of us who goes to Anacortes/Keystone often for recreational shore diving, give us a shout when you arrive.

-Eric
Visit pnwdiving.com for viz reports, slack planning, galleries and more!
Jeff Pack
I've Got Gills

Post by Jeff Pack »