Hello!

New to the NW Dive Club Forum? Come in and introduce yourself, the water's fine!
WetKen
Getting To Know Folks

Hello!

Post by WetKen »

I have been lurking for awhile now and saw the board needed a post. So, I figured it was time I introduced myself. I was raised in WA but started diving only a couple years ago while working in Ohio. I have 50+ dives logged so far. The great lakes are great for old shipwrecks but lack the creatures of saltwater. I have a couple dives in San Diego as well.

I dive a wetsuit, only because I have a neck injury from the military that prohibits shoulder motion and I am not sure I can wrangle into a dry suit. I have been told I should try, but just haven't. I am comfortable with my wetsuit to about 45 deg F for the duration of a dive. Below that, I believe it will not be enjoyable. I was comfortable on my coldest dive which was at 120ft FW and computer said 42 degrees. I have no experience in Puget Sound, YET. I dive with a single tank because weight is an issue while entering or exiting the water.

I live in Ellensburg but have a place to stay in the University district. I am looking for a new buddy as my wife does not dive. Weekend dives are best for now. I will continue to dive with my buddy in Ohio, but need someone here with experience in Puget Sound. I have fished the Pacific and understand tide books, but not as they relate to diving. To be honest, I consume air rapidly and not in the best shape, still working on it.
orcasc205
Aquaphile

Re: Hello!

Post by orcasc205 »

Welcome back to the area! I think you'll find the diving here a lot of fun and the cold water creatures are definitely spectacular. The water here doesn't often get below 45-46 degrees, so you may be fine in a wetsuit, but it's normally the surface interval and second dive where a drysuit really makes a difference.
YellowEye
I've Got Gills

Post by YellowEye »

Welcome!