Possibly Headed to PNW

New to the NW Dive Club Forum? Come in and introduce yourself, the water's fine!
ktuli
Avid Diver

Possibly Headed to PNW

Post by ktuli »

Hello all!

My name is Will, I've been doing the digital nomad thing for a little while now exploring the country while I work remotely. My first round was almost 3 months in Florida diving the Blue Heron Bridge as much as possible. I am currently in Colorado getting my hiking fix and I'm looking at my next options and exploring the PNW is high on the list. I'd be arriving around mid-October and would likely stay at least a couple months. I've been diving for over 11 years with just under 400 dives, certified to PADI Dive Master level and I have taken a Drysuit specialty course (though amusingly I took the course to dive in the UK and when I got there they just gave me a semi-dry to rent and said I'd be fine so I've only got a couple pool sessions and a couple afternoons of diving in a lake in WV in a drysuit). I'm also an avid underwater photographer and want to add a bunch of the unique cold water species to my collection.

Anyway, my questions are...

1. Is now a good time to dive in the PNW? Are folks still actively diving for the next few months?
2. As I'm on my own, is this site good for scheduling dive buddies? If so, what are the main areas where people live/dive regularly so I can target finding a place to stay nearby to maximize my diving (including mid-week diving if folks are doing that)?
3. Any recommendations on places to rent or buy a good drysuit for a few months?
4. Any other local knowledge you can share?

Thanks a ton!

Will
YellowEye
I've Got Gills

Re: Possibly Headed to PNW

Post by YellowEye »

Hi Will!
Welcome!

That sounds like a pretty cool lifestyle!