Thanks NWSD - I'm a SCUBA diver!

New to the NW Dive Club Forum? Come in and introduce yourself, the water's fine!
claret
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

Thanks NWSD - I'm a SCUBA diver!

Post by claret »

I certified through NAUI with NWSD this weekend. I want to thank my instructors for their time and patience. What an unforgettable experience! I hope to get back in the water as soon as possible.

My class spent all last week doing lecture and then practicing skills in a community pool. Over the weekend we did a total of five dives at Seacrest Park. I was actually thankful for a small class size, since it meant one on one attention was possible. With 2 instructors and one Dive Master (Instructor candidate), and three students including me, I felt like I was getting a real bonus in my training.

The desire to do this in the first place was a trip to Maui a couple of months ago, where I snorkeled for the first time. I went out on one of those half-day trips where they find a good spot based on several conditions, and then you step off the boat into a critter wonderland! So it was amazing, and my daughter was with me, and she kept diving down as far as she could with her snorkel, and then I tried and not knowing how to alleviate the pain that I was feeling in my ears. I wanted more. There was so much to see below the surface! Plus, anything that I have even a remote interest in, which is a lot of things, I want to try out. The technical side of diving is just cool with all the gadgets and math and navigation. Love it! But, diving allows me to visit another world that most people will never see in-person. I'm speechless over it, really. I was in tears after my first open-water dive this weekend. I was so overwhelmed emotionally.

Now I'm all set to dive to depths of 60 feet (for now) and dive Nitrox which I haven't had a chance to do yet, but I will definitely dive with on my next dive. Yay, math!