Introductions Please

New to the NW Dive Club Forum? Come in and introduce yourself, the water's fine!
Tangfish
NWDC Mascot
NWDC Mascot

Introductions Please

Post by Tangfish »

I've noticed that we've had a handful of new registrations over the past week or so and I thought it would be in order for us to introduce ourselves to our new friends, and vice versa. :occasion5:

I'll start: I'm Calvin and I put this little board together, though I didn't start the dive club itself exactly. We had a dive club a ways back and some of our members left to get married or just don't have the time to come out diving anymore, so I registered a new name and started this board with the hopes of reconstructing our little dive club. So far it's been going great and I've met quite a few new friends here (with the notable exception of Sparky, whom I have yet to meet in person :bounce:).

I've been diving for about 5 years. I have my Rescue Diver cert along with a few specialties. I originally started diving as an assignment by a travel magazine I used to write for. I immediately fell in love with diving and they ended up sending me all over the world, diving and writing about some terrific reefs.

Last year I started a news media company called Newsvine, and I haven't had the chance to travel much anymore as a result. So, I've set out to be a cold water diver from this point on while my travel wings are clipped.

I also write a blog about SCUBA equipment and travel. You can find out more about me there if you want to click over. I've also got a gallery of photos I shoot both on land and underwater. :salute:

Well, that's about it for me.