tolmie barge locations

This forum consists of a listing of dive sites, including directions and other essential info. Plan your dive, dive your plan.
tedward
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

tolmie barge locations

Post by tedward »

Does anyone know where exactly the third barge is supposed to be at Tolmie park? I dove this site last Aug and found the first two barges rather quickly (the marker is tied to one of the barges and the other is only about 30ft away or so) but we couldn't find the 3rd one and there's too much conflicting data on it's location. I'm going to talk with the WA state parks dept. and see if I can go down there and set-up some guide ropes along the bottom linking all the barges together but it would be easier if I had a fix on all their locations first and I also read something about a smaller "Tire reef" there too. anyone know anything about that?
Oh, and for those thinking of diving this place, it's a great dive with lots to see, I'd reccomend diving it on a -1ft tide or lower.
I'm a newer diver looking for dive buddies to go explore puget sound and Hood Canal with. I want to do underwater photography as well. I own my own gear and have way too much free time on my hands so...
mz53480
I've Got Gills

Re: tolmie barge locations

Post by mz53480 »

tedward wrote:Does anyone know where exactly the third barge is supposed to be at Tolmie park? I dove this site last Aug and found the first two barges rather quickly (the marker is tied to one of the barges and the other is only about 30ft away or so) but we couldn't find the 3rd one and there's too much conflicting data on it's location. I'm going to talk with the WA state parks dept. and see if I can go down there and set-up some guide ropes along the bottom linking all the barges together but it would be easier if I had a fix on all their locations first and I also read something about a smaller "Tire reef" there too. anyone know anything about that?