Gedney (aka hat) island by Everett

This forum consists of a listing of dive sites, including directions and other essential info. Plan your dive, dive your plan.
yahmason
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

Gedney (aka hat) island by Everett

Post by yahmason »

Hi all,

We are planning a dive off of Gedney island, also known as hat island. It's located between Everett and the south end of Whidby Island. There are two places to dive there, the reef and the barges. The barges are supposedly outside the entrance to their marina, and the reef is south of there. Ok, that's still a large area...

Does anyone have more information than that? Which one is better? GPS coordinates anyone? Depth?

Any info would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Nicholas.
CaptnJack
I've Got Gills

Re: Help with Gedney (aka hat) island by Everett

Post by CaptnJack »

The reef is on the south side of the island. Its marked on relevant charts (e.g. NOAA chart #181441) which you can view here: http://www.charts.noaa.gov/OnLineViewer/18441.shtml NOAA calls it a "fish haven" Its also written up in the Dave Bliss Boat dives of Puget Sound book. I don't have my coordinates handy, sorry. Depths are 40 to 70ft as I recall at least that's the majority of it. Try to go at high or low tide, the currents are surprisingly swirly (and there's no current correction station nearby). Realize that its totally exposed to the south as well so watch any southery wind forcasts. Everett is a WAY better launch than Mukilteo BTW. I have never done the "barges" so I can't comment on which is better. The fishing reef is average, fairly busy with fishermen depending on the season. Probably deserted right now.
Sounder wrote:Under normal circumstances, I would never tell another man how to shave his balls... but this device should not be kept secret.
Jan K
I've Got Gills

Post by Jan K »