Repetitive Diving - Safety

This forum is provided for the further edification of our club members seeking to improve their knowledge and diving skills. (recreational diving only)
johnclark
Aquaphile

Repetitive Diving - Safety

Post by johnclark »

Hello all, I've tried my best googling this subject matter with little luck finding an article that tells me something more then a rule of thumb, which by the way all say something different. As many of you know I'm new to SCUBA and I've been diving like a mad man ever since being certified. How often in terms of consecutive days can I dive safely? Most days I dive once doing two dives in one day occasionally on the weekend.

Anyway, do any of you know any articles that shed some light on this matter? All of my dives are well within recreational limits with no deco, and appropriate safety stops, breathing air. Thanks.
spatman
I've Got Gills

Re: Repetitive Diving - Safety

Post by spatman »

it really depends on how many dives per day, to what depth, dive runtimes, and the mix you are breathing. but generally speaking you should be fine at 2 recreational level dives per day, ad infinitum.

if you want to take a closer look, you could simulate a dive plan over consecutive days of diving by using tables or a software planner. use long surface intervals between days, e.g. you end your 2nd dive monday at 3pm and start diving tuesday at 9am for an SI of 18hrs.
Joshua Smith
I've Got Gills

Post by Joshua Smith »

Well.....I don't think you really have much to worry about. You might want to think about getting a nitrox cert, though. Do you dive a computer, or tables? AFAIK, all dive computers track tissue loading over multiple days....but if you're diving no deco within the limits, I wouldn't really worry about diving every single day for a month or more....and that's not easy to do.
Maritime Documentation Society