Side Mount diving. (NHZ)

This forum is provided for the further edification of our club members seeking to improve their knowledge and diving skills. (recreational diving only)
kdupreez
I've Got Gills

Side Mount diving. (NHZ)

Post by kdupreez »

A LOT of people I know have recently made a jump to sidemount.

And since I am not a sidemount diver and dont know any personal friend sidemount instructors, I was wondering if the group could share some details on their sidemount experiences.

I have some knowledge on the configuration and protocols in a recreational diving, but not a whole lot.

I'd love to hear from you side-mounters how you like diving it, what was the best and worst in terms of making the shift and now that you've been diving it a while, how do you like it?

The differences in warm water sidemount with AL80's and diving here with heavy steels and dry-suit would be good to fully understand the pro's and con's too.

Thanks for any insights.. (And remember, this is a No Hijack Zone)

OK... Three, Two, One.. GO!

:supz:
"I believe that if life gives you lemons, you should make lemonade... And try to find somebody whose life has given them vodka, and have a party" - Ron White
Dusty2
I've Got Gills

Re: Side Mount diving. (NHZ)

Post by Dusty2 »

Talk to Grateful Diver. He went back and took lessons from one of the pros and has a few months experience to work out the cold water differences.
spatman
I've Got Gills

Post by spatman »

kdupreez wrote:I'd love to hear from you side-mounters how you like diving it, what was the best and worst in terms of making the shift and now that you've been diving it a while, how do you like it?

The differences in warm water sidemount with AL80's and diving here with heavy steels and dry-suit would be good to fully understand the pro's and con's too.