Youth classes

This forum is provided for the further edification of our club members seeking to improve their knowledge and diving skills. (recreational diving only)
brst
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

Youth classes

Post by brst »

Hello all,

I am a Non Diver that can use some advise and/or recommendations. I would like to expose my 14 year old son to the world of scuba. Although non divers, we spend a considerable amount of time on the water and he absolutely loves it. As a father, I believe it is one of my jobs to expose him to as much as possible and then let him decide what he wants to pursue. I would appreciate any recommendations and advice on what I should be looking at in regards to youth classes/schools. Of coarse, safety is my primary concern. We are located in West Seattle.
eliseaboo
I've Got Gills

Re: Youth classes

Post by eliseaboo »

Any shop should be able to train your son. My advice would be to visit the ones closest to you and start talking to staff. Ask them about their classes, and see if you like them. If you'd like to have him pop in the pool ask about Discover Scuba, where he can try out scuba gear with an instructor for a lower cost before signing up for the full class.

At least with PADI classes, after certification he will have to dive with a certified adult (is there someone you guys know that already dives?) or a divemaster/instructor (at 14 he's still considered a Junior Open Water Diver). When he turns 15 he can get an updated card and dive as a regular Open Water Diver.

I'm sure you'll get many shop recommendations from members, but in my experience all the shops in the area are very high quality, and the dive community is phenomenal as well! Best of luck to the two of you!
Magoi
Dive-aholic

Post by Magoi »