Aluminum vs Steel? Pressure

Need advice on recreational gear configurations? Look no further than this equipment forum.
krisdahl
Just Settling In

Aluminum vs Steel? Pressure

Post by krisdahl »

I read a post somewhere talking about how most NW divers prefer steel tanks. Is it just the higher pressure or what is the advantages?

I'm new at this and looking to buy my first setup.
Dashrynn
I've Got Gills

Re: Aluminum vs Steel? Pressure

Post by Dashrynn »

krisdahl wrote:I read a post somewhere talking about how most NW divers prefer steel tanks. Is it just the higher pressure or what is the advantages?

I'm new at this and looking to buy my first setup.

my personal opinion which is null compared to most here, but it would be steel has way better buoyancy characteristics. I have 2 steel hp100s 1 steel lp95 and 2 al80's and i prefer my hp100 over my lp95 any day. Now I haven't tried my al80s in a long time but i always had to put a little extra weight when i used my al80 so i wouldn't "cork" but that being said i have corked at 5 fsw using a steel tank too. Even though steel has better buoyancy as most say they still loose there weight when depleted to 500 psi.

Another thing to consider is high pressure to low pressure, some shops cannot fully fill a hp100 so you end up with 3200 psi instead of 3400 which is 3 cubic feet for every 100 psi so in the end you loose about 6 cubic feet in your tank resulting in the equivalent of a lp95, but heres were it becomes a preference even more than steel vs al or hp vs lp....i love the hell out of my hp100's and i would rather be short a few 100 psi than to give up my hp100 for a lp95....

thats my 2 psi and im sticking to it
Geek
Pelagic

Post by Geek »