newbie question on diving gear???

General banter about diving and why we love it.
Acquatic
Avid Diver

newbie question on diving gear???

Post by Acquatic »

Hello all,

I am very new to diving and currently i am looking to get my certification. But, meanwhile i am collecting info on the diving sport and i was wondering what is the function of diff gear/equipment. I know some of it coz its quite obvious.. but what about other things: e.g.

1) Wet suit: I assume that wet suit allows water to flow inside and actually water is touching your skin .. huh?? but then why its said that 6mm is more warmer than 3mm ?? <-- pls enlighten.

2) then what is the functionality of a dry suit ???

3) Hood: I believe if you are without hood then your head, ears and hair will get wet.. but then if you are wearing hood .. then does that mean they will be dry ?? so is the hood that tight around your face that it doesn't allow water to pass in at all ?? <-- pls enlighten.

4) Mask: i believe that mask acts like swimming goggles. Its tight and keep air between your eyes and the glass. So does that mean i can dive wearing my contacts ?

5) Dive computer: What does it do ? does it take readings of the dept, direction and pressure ?? but then we have other gauges for that.. don't we ?? <-- pls enlighten.

6) Dive knife: why do we need a knife underwater ?? is it for self protection from the marine life ? just in case a fish attacks ?? <-- pls enlighten.

7) Mouth piece regulator: Not sure if thats what its called but its that thing which goes into your mouth for respiration.. so i believe you inhale using that mouth piece but how do you exhale ? from the nose ? or you have a clip around your nose so that you don't accidently breathe water?? <-- pls enlighten.