Where have all the fishies gone?

Fish & Invertebrate sightings and descriptions, hosted by resident NWDC ID expert Janna Nichols (nwscubamom).
pnbooth
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

Where have all the fishies gone?

Post by pnbooth »

Seems like all winter I have been hearing comments from other divers (as well as witnessing first hand) about the disappearing act by lots of critters at local Seattle metro-area dive sites. Rockfish are few and far between, gunnels and most sculpins nonexistent, and many inverts. have also been scarce. What happened? Is it the inordinate amount of freshwater reducing salinities at rec. diving depths? Is it the water temps. hovering in the low to mid-40s? Or is it something more ominous? I want to hear from some real experts out there, please. I have noticed this as Cove 2, Three Tree North, Mukilteo, Redondo, and even at Edmonds UP (with the exception of the monster lings and cabbys).
Grateful Diver
I've Got Gills

Re: Where have all the fishies gone?

Post by Grateful Diver »

pnbooth wrote:Seems like all winter I have been hearing comments from other divers (as well as witnessing first hand) about the disappearing act by lots of critters at local Seattle metro-area dive sites. Rockfish are few and far between, gunnels and most sculpins nonexistent, and many inverts. have also been scarce. What happened? Is it the inordinate amount of freshwater reducing salinities at rec. diving depths? Is it the water temps. hovering in the low to mid-40s? Or is it something more ominous? I want to hear from some real experts out there, please. I have noticed this as Cove 2, Three Tree North, Mukilteo, Redondo, and even at Edmonds UP (with the exception of the monster lings and cabbys).