Gauges

Need advice on recreational gear configurations? Look no further than this equipment forum.
brownc9
Just Settling In

Gauges

Post by brownc9 »

So I'm pretty new to diving and am building up my first reg with an xtx50, an alpha 8, and my buddy's gauge set. I'm trying to do it on the cheap but also dont want to buy too many things twice. What is the go-to gauge set that will get me started for diving to tables and still have an insert for a computer and compass down the road? Or do most just go straight to the console all in one?
pensacoladiver
I've Got Gills

Re: Gauges

Post by pensacoladiver »

since you mentioned "down the road", I will give you my down the road answer that I see most if not all of my dive buddies doing...

A single SPG, no boot that is clipped on your left hand side, thats about as cheap as you are going to get.

A wrist mount dive computer and a wrist mount compass. In the long run, that s the cheap way to go.

It has been my experience, especially here in Florida where divers qualify and buy gear by the truck load that the majority of them want the console so they have everyting they think they need in one stop shopping.

Problem as I see it, the console is bulky as all get out and sooner or later, many of the folks who stay with it and go out deeper than the first reef end up going to an SPG and wrist mount computer.

I sure didn't answer any of your questions did i? :pirate:
Mattleycrue76
I've Got Gills

Post by Mattleycrue76 »

What P-diver said. Buy a wrist mount Suunto Sk-7compass and a brass and glass SPG. HOG makes some good reasonably priced ones. You can either get a bottom timer for tables like the Uwatec one or go for an inexpensive computer with bottom timer function like the alladin tec2g. If you want a console pm me I have a Suunto air integrated one I'm selling. But my recommendation would be for wrist mounted gauges. Hope hat helps.