Puget Sound Bathymetry over Google Maps

General banter about diving and why we love it.
lamont
I've Got Gills

Puget Sound Bathymetry over Google Maps

Post by lamont »

http://www.scriptkiddie.org/bath

I've been working on that for a couple of months now. There's a whole lot more features that I've been testing and are in the pipeline to release, but I need to figure out if I can serve the uderlying bathymetry data publically with my latest refactoring without creaming the heck out of my upstream bandwidth and my server CPU.

This is buggy and not even really a beta test. The two highest zooms don't have any tiles generated for them. The script that I've got now that generates the tiles I estimate takes 2 days to run and I needed to fix some bugs and run it again so I decided to just throw what I've got out there.

You'll notice that lake washington is 18.75 ft lower than it should be. I tried to fix this but transposed x and y coordinates and accidentally hit Dungeness Bay / Sequim with a 18.75 ft tsunami (or maybe its global warming?)...

The source of the underlying data is here:

http://www.ocean.washington.edu/data/pu ... m2005.html
Joshua Smith
I've Got Gills

Post by Joshua Smith »

That looks reeeaaally interesting.....I'd like to see it when it's a bit more polished. I've been thinking about looking for a chart that shows the Sound like a USGS map shows elevations....those all seem to stop at sea level, for some strange reason. Nice work!
Maritime Documentation Society

"To venture into the terrible loneliness, one must have something greater than greed. Love. One needs love for life, for intrigue, for mystery."
lamont
I've Got Gills

Post by lamont »

how painful was the response time? i was watching you in my access logs and it seemed like it was a big laggy...

(i'll find out for myself tomorrow at work though...)
lamont
I've Got Gills

Post by lamont »