WDFW news re: octopuses

This forum is for all other types of chatter, including non-SCUBA stuff.
Jason Wettstein
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

WDFW news re: octopuses

Post by Jason Wettstein »

Members may be interested in the following, re: octopuses.

Jason Wettstein
Community Relations and Public Affairs
Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife

=====================

NEWS RELEASE
Washington Fish and Wildlife Commission
July 30, 2013

Commission to consider waterfowl
seasons, protections for octopuses

OLYMPIA — The Washington Fish and Wildlife Commission will consider adopting 2013-14 hunting seasons for migratory waterfowl and additional protective measures for giant Pacific octopuses in Puget Sound during a public meeting Aug. 2-3 in Olympia.

A public hearing is also scheduled to discuss several proposals to amend state wildlife interaction rules to incorporate measures from Washington’s Wolf Conservation and Management Plan and implement 2013 legislation.

The commission, a citizen panel appointed by the governor to set policy for the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW), will convene in Room 172 of the Natural Resources Building, 1111 Washington St. S.E. The meeting is scheduled to begin at 8 a.m. Aug. 2 and 8:30 a.m. Aug. 3.

An agenda for the meeting is available at http://wdfw.wa.gov/commission/. On Friday, TVW (http://www.tvw.org/) is scheduled to provide a live webcast of the meeting.

State waterfowl seasons proposed by WDFW are similar to those adopted last year. The general duck season would be open for 107 days – from Oct. 12-16 and from Oct. 19-Jan. 26. A special youth hunting weekend is also proposed for Sept. 21-22.

As in previous years, goose hunting seasons will vary by management areas across the state, but most would open in mid-October and run through late January.