I am officially a dive addict!

New to the NW Dive Club Forum? Come in and introduce yourself, the water's fine!
TravelscubaMD
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

I am officially a dive addict!

Post by TravelscubaMD »

Hello All!

My name is Payal. I was just certified in March and can't stop thinking about diving. I generally read about 20 books a year. As of Jan, when I started my certification process, I have read 3 and 6 are waiting. All scuba books. Ya. Of all the sports to get addicted to...this one is sure to clear my savings account. In Feb before I even finished my cert I bought tickets to Malaysia and Japan to go diving (A friend of mine didn't want to go diving alone, thought I'd help her out, I'm nice like that...heh). Holy crap that was amazing. I won't be doing any trips like that any time soon since I got laid off recently (doh!) But what an incredibly sport...to see something you thought was a plant and have it suddenly move to stick it's arm into a mouth that you didn't know was there because it's licking the plankton off it's little hair like fingers....CRAZY!

Fortunately, I have been volunteering time to work on a scuba stuff so I was able to continue diving with a DM a tiny bit. I do want to buy gear...particularly a dry suit!!!! It's just overwhelming! All the things you need to consider (and money one needs to hemorrhage out) before you are truly able to buy the right dive computer, gear and before going through the certifications. I thoroughly intend to pick all of your brains about dive sites and gear. I have heard some ugly stories about people buying gear and it just not being the right stuff :( yipes!