More than a hobby?

This forum is for all other types of chatter, including non-SCUBA stuff.
jirraph
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

More than a hobby?

Post by jirraph »

I've recently experienced the awe of scuba and the excitement it gives! I would very much like to get my own equipment instead of just renting, but the initial investment is a limiting factor. Being a back-at-home college student, finishing school and getting out on my own is my top priority.

But the diving bug has already burrowed itself...

I can rationalize the expense if I were to see a return while using my gear. The best scenario would be for me to get paid to be in the water! Now, I don't know much about what the scuba workforce has to offer (at base level experience) except for ship cleaning, which I have little grief with; research may be another form, but I don't know of the degree qualifications/benchmarks (if any) that need to be met.

Does anybody here have experience with scuba employment? Is it suggested, hard to come by, or should it just be a hobby when there is adequate money?

I would be indebted to those that could at least point me in the right direction!
Jeff Pack
I've Got Gills

Re: More than a hobby?

Post by Jeff Pack »

Other than as a commercial diver, its a hobby.

Run, run fast, there's no rate of return, no ROI, or anything. :)
=============================================

- I got a good squirt in my mouth
- I would imagine that there would be a large amount of involuntary gagging
- I don't know about you but I'm not into swallowing it

CCR discussion on Caustic Cocktails.
LCF
I've Got Gills

Post by LCF »

In the recreational diving realm, around here, the only time you'll make any money at all is at the instructor level, and it isn't much.