Advice?

New to the NW Dive Club Forum? Come in and introduce yourself, the water's fine!
dhc2widow
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

Advice?

Post by dhc2widow »

I have joined this forum in the hope that someone here can hook me up with someone somewhere who may be able to help or advise us ...

Two and a half years ago, my husband and four other men died after the air taxi they travelled in sank in the Sutil Channel near Vancouver Island, BC.

Five months later, the families contracted to have the aircraft lifted from the ocean floor. Unfortunately, corrosion had resulted in the engine being left behind.

Two years later, we are still trying to bring it to the surface. The various government agencies have opted out of helping in this effort, as they claim nothing can be learned by retrieving the engine. We disagree.

Through a series of trial and error, we have come to believe that the operation should be a relatively simple one for someone experienced in deep water diving.

What we have is an 9-cylinder radial R-985 Pratt & Whitney engine lying at a depth of about 830 feet. We have video of what it looked like down there a year after the rest of the wreck had been recovered. The engine was sitting in a partial "crater" created by the weight of the aircraft. There is some concern that it may be sinking in the silt, or being covered by silt due to the strange currents in the area. We have approximate GPS co-ordinates of the engine and nearby markers (we found one of those markers last week, by towing an underwater camera). We are trying to get video that may have been taken in March 2007 when there was a failed attempt (they could not locate) by a manned submersible. On April 28th (re-aired August 4th), the investigative news program W-Five aired an episode entitled "A Routine Flight" about our "quest". The video can still be viewed by following the links on the right side of this page: W-Five: A Routine Flight.