Diving Aug 12-13

Organize buddy teams, plan shore and boat dives, organize charters... make it happen here!
iochanan
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

Diving Aug 12-13

Post by iochanan »

Hi all,

I'll be heading to beautiful Seattle for the first time in August to attend a wedding on late afternoon, August 13. Planning to bring all my gear and dive as much as I can on Aug 12 and the morning of Aug 13. Will do as many dives as my tissues can take. A few words about me: Born and raised in Germany I am currently in grad school at UCSD. Have logged somewhere upwards of 700 dives across 20+ countries, most of them in cold California waters though. Ocean lover, technical diver (OC trimix), PADI DM (doing some occasional work as a guide). Just love to be in the water. Every dive is a good dive.

While planning, I ran into some issues that some of you may be able to help me out with:

1. Tanks: I arrive late on Aug 11 (past 6pm) and would love to plunge into the water as early as the sun rises on Aug 12. The problem: All shops seem to close before or at 6pm and do not open before 9 or 10 am in the morning. Anyone have any idea how to organize a set of tanks (ideally I am thinking 2-3 HP100s and maybe an AL40 or AL80 as a bloodless buddy in case I am unable to find a human one here)? Maybe a shop that will store tanks in a lockbox of some sort after prepayment, or maybe a member here who could pick up tanks for me on Aug 11 and keep them until I can pick them up later that day. Any help is appreciated.

2. Sites: Was looking at the usual: Cove 2, Edmonds, Redondo, but also at Mukilteo, Three Trees and Saltwater State. Maybe even Lake Crescent... Anything crazy good I have not on my list yet? Also, are there any charter boats and boat dives that cannot be missed? I read about the Diamond Knot, but it seems that Northwest Charters have ceased operation, so to my knowledge no charter boat is going there right now...