Help~~~ Strobe for Canon G9

Post and discuss beautiful underwater photos and video brought back from the depths of the sea.
Crystaltear
Avid Diver

Help~~~ Strobe for Canon G9

Post by Crystaltear »

First of all, buddies, Merry Christmas! ^o^

So, here's the story. Christmas time, daddy's giving me a present. \:D/ He was going to get me a DSLR camera set, but I've already got my G9 and LOVING it, and of course, can't really afford a housing for it right now :p So he agreed to get me a strobe instead, yay! :occasion5:

Now the problem is I'm pretty new to photography and have no knowledge on strobe and lighting staff. Had a quick look at it, thought Sea & Sea YS-110 isn't too bad, but will it work with my camera and housing (Canon WP-DC21, should have got the Ikelite if I knew this was coming)? Or any other suggestions?

Thanks and enjoy your holiday :hello2:
Guanjin
Guanjin
Ken G
I've Got Gills

Post by Ken G »

I'm looking at buying the g9 in the next few weeks. It seems to be just about everything I am looking for in a camera. I am going with the Ikelite housing so I can use wet lenses later and it has a hot-seat for the strobe. The strobe I am most interested in is the Inon. I think it has a lot of potential for growth into whatever camera I end up with after the g9. I'm thinking Dslr someday. Check them out http://inonamerica.com/products.php
Crystaltear
Avid Diver

Post by Crystaltear »

Any particular reasons about why you choose Inon? and which model?

Thanks,
G
Guanjin
Celeus
Frequent Bubbler

Post by Celeus »

I went with the Inon Z240 on an Ikelite housing- the Inon gets good reviews from lots of folks and as best I can tell is capable of putting out significantly more light than other strobes in that range.