Accident report/ question

Re-learning buoyancy skills or have questions (or answers) about diving a CCR or SCR? The No Bubble Zone is the place to discuss rebreather diving.
Joshua Smith
I've Got Gills

Accident report/ question

Post by Joshua Smith »

There's an accident report up on Rebreather World:

http://www.rebreatherworld.com/rebreath ... -cave.html

It happened in an old mine, and the divers were on CCRs, but my question isn't specific to CCRs or caves, or anything like that, it's more general:

IMO, aside from a laundry list of mistakes and oversites, this guys biggest problem was the fact that he was unable to shut off the flow of gas into his loop from his diluent tank, even after closing the valve, as in a "boom" drill.
This makes no sense to me. I'm no expert, but how can a valve on a scuba tank suddenly loose the ability to stay closed? I can see one wearing out, and developing a leak over a lot of use and a long period of time, but it would become really, really obvious pretty quickly, wouldn't it? As in: "That tank I filled last night is empty this morning. Hmmm. That's odd."

Am I missing something? Or can valves fail quite suddenly like that?
Maritime Documentation Society

"To venture into the terrible loneliness, one must have something greater than greed. Love. One needs love for life, for intrigue, for mystery."
boydski
Submariner

Re: Accident report/ question

Post by boydski »

Joshua Smith wrote:Am I missing something? Or can valves fail quite suddenly like that?
Any debris that is caught between the valve seat and the valve gate (plug) will prevent it from closing completely. In the case of the accident, it appears that the valve seat was erroded, allowing gas to pass the valve even though it was completely closed.