Semi Dry vs Dry

Need advice on recreational gear configurations? Look no further than this equipment forum.
sungurl
Aquaphile

Semi Dry vs Dry

Post by sungurl »

Okay folks, newbie here so need the input on Semi-Dry versus Dry Suits for me....new diver (just certified)...looking at getting out and diving, but does NOT like to be cold. I understand dry suits are much more expensive but more comfortable as far as coldness goes, but does one REALLY need a dry suit for the winter around here. I did pretty well in a wetsuit for my open water classes this weekend, but got chilled by the end of the second dives on both days....concerned about being cold in the winter, but also don't want to go and fork out $$$ right off the bat.....any thoughts? :smt064 thankies....
spatman
I've Got Gills

Re: Semi Dry vs Dry

Post by spatman »

hey sungurl

diving wet or semidry can be done, a lot of it depends on personal tolerance to cold. at first, i tried diving wet, and i made it to late october before it got too cold for me. it wasn't the water temps, but the inability to really warm up between dives. i couldn't image diving through the winter in 44 degree water and even colder surface intervals.

if you're even considering diving dry, do it. it is well worth the higher cost, imho. you can also usually find decent used drysuits which are a great way to start.

good luck and let us know what you decide.
Sounder
I've Got Gills

Post by Sounder »

People do dive in wetsuits in the winter here... but they're crazy. They'll also tell you it doesn't bother them... and they're lying. Soon enough you'll find them in a drysuit - just watch.

So yes, you definitely will want a drysuit eventually, but for now while the water is still somewhat warm, a wetsuit will allow you the simplicity of working on your other skills and comfort without the added hassle of learning the drysuit.