Hello NW Divers Club!

New to the NW Dive Club Forum? Come in and introduce yourself, the water's fine!
JesseK
Just Settling In

Hello NW Divers Club!

Post by JesseK »

Hi there!
I am a new diver, just got my OW in November. I'm a soldier at FT Lewis, getting a medical retirement. I knew from the first moment I hit the pool on my way to OW certification, I was going to love diving, and that was true! I am head over heals in love with diving, and am already thinking of dives I want to do years down the road LOL! I would love to get to know more of the members here, and even do some diving with some of you (as soon as I can replace my fins and weight pockets... long story, posted a lost and found request).

One of the things I love about diving is the sense of isolation, I know I have a dive partner down there with me, but I have anxiety issues with crowds, and diving is such a calming and relaxing feeling for me. Another aspect that is great about diving for me, has to do with I have nerve damage in my abdomen (the reason I am getting medically retired from the military) and the pressure from the water when I dive actually feels soothing. The heat from my wetsuit and pressure from the water not only feels good, it helps alleviate the pain to a great degree.

At any rate, I hope to get some dives in with you all! I've heard so many great things about this community, I hope to become a member and old timer on the boards eventually!

Jesse
Jesse K. AKA "DevilCow"

"Ich habe viele Probleme, aber ich bin nicht so tot wie Elvis"
Penopolypants
NWDC Moderator
NWDC Moderator

Re: Hello NW Divers Club!

Post by Penopolypants »

Welcome to the board! Diving is all sorts of good therapy, isn't it?

We have several weekly dives around the Sound - details are here:

http://www.nwdiveclub.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=17214

and here (for our weekly South Sound dives)
http://www.nwdiveclub.com/viewforum.php?f=3

And we're having a club dive in February!