environmentally sealed or not?

Need advice on recreational gear configurations? Look no further than this equipment forum.
Trashman
Hi, I'm New To NWDC!

environmentally sealed or not?

Post by Trashman »

Hello all,

My apologies if this question/topic has already been discussed, but I was wondering if anyone would care to share their thoughts/advice on regulators being environmentally sealed vs. not for use in our pacific nw diving conditions? I welcome all input, particularly from those of you who have experienced any issues in either case.

thanks

trashman
CaptnJack
I've Got Gills

Re: environmentally sealed or not?

Post by CaptnJack »

"Sealed" is redicuously overhyped in marketing but really unimportant. My non-sealed regs work as good or better locally than my sealed ones.
Sounder wrote:Under normal circumstances, I would never tell another man how to shave his balls... but this device should not be kept secret.
defied
I've Got Gills

Post by defied »

Sealed are nice for not getting salt in places, but it doesn't really matter, as far as I can tell. I like them, though.

D
Johnbhutch
Aquaphile

Post by Johnbhutch »

Sealed are the way to go. I have overhauled a lot of regs and the sealed ones hold up better in the long run. They stay much cleaner on the inside and they require less in the way of replacement parts due to less corrosion. Lets face it anytime you can keep the dirt and salt out of a piece of gear the better off you will be.
kitsapdiver
Submariner

Post by kitsapdiver »

For divers who are diligent about fresh water rinsing and are active locally I tend to agree with RJ it's over-hyped! However from a different perspective while we consider the NW cold water diving the guys in lake and quarries where it's 38 at the bottom year round and the water is Sans-salt (raising the freezing point) the environmentally sealed regs are helpful! However with 48 degree salt-water that isn't much of a concern to begin with!
THE Ohio State University